Home & News Activities Non-UK Members Joining the Society Archives Events Programme The Review Members' Weekend International Members' Weekend Away Day Discussion Forum Chadwick Prize Philsoc Student Prize Philsoc Twitter Feeds Contacts Links & Portraits

The Tony Chadwick Essay Prize

Dr Tony Chadwick, who died in January 1991, founded the Philosophical Society in 1973. He was Staff Tutor in Philosophy at what is now Oxford University Department for Continuing Education (OUDCE) which is based at Rewley House, Oxford. His family would like to encourage students of Philosophy who are connected with the traditional work of Rewley House.

An Essay Prize of £150 is awarded annually for the best essay from any member of the Philosophical Society, any Rewley House student of any day, evening, weekend or Summer school classes, or any students of philosophy groups who have connections with the Philosophical Society.

In addition to the £150, the prize includes a free philosophy weekend of the winner's choice (excluding accommodation charges).

There is a £75 prize for the runner-up (again, plus free weekend fees). This prize is known as the Boethius Prize. There is a £25 prize for the best essay written by someone whose age is less than 30. This is aimed at encouraging young philosophers. This prize is known as the Lyceum Prize.

After the winners are decided, all submitted essays are forwarded to the Editor of the Society's Annual Review. Winning essays are published automatically, the rest may also be published at the Editor's discretion, subject to the same criteria as any essays submitted directly to the Review.

Essays can be sent as either hard copy or email, to arrive not later than 1st July. For details (including eligibility criteria) and for some advisory guidelines, please see the Chadwick Prize Rules.

Please add a separate cover sheet, with your name and contact information, plus details of how you qualify to enter this competition (e.g. membership of the Society, or which class you have attended), and a signed statement saying "This essay is entirely my own original work".

If submitting an essay to the Chadwick prize, please do not submit the same (or similar) to the Review, as this may compromise your anonymity. All submitted essays will be automatically forwarded to the Review Editor for consideration, unless you specifically request for this not to happen.

Below you can download PDF versions of the essays of all the winners and runners-up since the competition began in 1993.

Tony Chadwick Prize Winners and Runners up
(If you think the same names keep reappearing, then you owe it to yourself to enter!)

2018 Winner: Tony Walton
The Strengths and Weaknesses of Frege's Critique of Locke
2018 Boethius Prize: Greg Gauthier
Values, Virtues and Ethical Sportsmanship
2018 Lyceum Prize: none
No prize awarded
2017 Winner: Geoff Oliver
We Are All Talking Nonsense
2017 Boethius Prize: Nigel Humphreys
Kant on Time – Copernicus or Ptolemy?
2017 Lyceum Prize: Omar Mohamed
The 'Aristocratic Anarchism' of the Female Character in Nietzsche's "Thus Spake Zarathustra"
2016 Winner: Shree Ramaan
Do Deontologists' Rules Deny Particularism?
2016 Boethius Prize: Miles Fender
Is Frege-Geach Problem a Worry?
2016 Lyceum Prize: Tasmin Baker
Descartes' Distinction of Mental and Physical
2015 Winner: John Harries
Are Beliefs "In the Head?"
2015 Boethius prize: James Edwards
A Taxonomy of Causal Reasoning
2015 Lyceum prize: Victoria Schaaf
Iconography as Photography
2014 Winner: Bob Stone
Is Tomorrow's Sea-Battle Really Necessary?
2014 Boethius prize: Alexander Thomas
The Problem of Eudaimonia and Virtue
2014 Lyceum prize: none
No prize awarded
2013 Winner: Michael Donnan
The Laws of Logic, Intentionality and the Existence of God
2013 Boethius prize: Robert Stone
The Only Way Is Compatibilism
2013 Lyceum prize: none
No prize awarded
2012 Winner: David Hickey
A Problem for Egalitarians
2012 Boethius prize: Robert Stone
In Defence of Determinism
2012 Lyceum prize: none
Prize would have been won by the David Hickey – the year's Chadwick prize winner.
2011 Winner: Christian Michel
The Consistency of Tense
2011 Boethius prize: Robert Stone
Intuitions and Self-Evidence in Moral Theories
2011 Lyceum prize: Shihwa Hwang-Meza
Lakatos' Immeasurable Contribution to Knowledge: the logical theory of the scientific method
2010 Winner: Mike Arnautov
Befriending the Liar Paradox
2010 Boethius prize: none
No prize awarded
2009 Winner: Christian Michel
The Liar Paradox Outside-In
2009 Boethius prize: Oliver Bridle
Is food not art because it is not expressive, not representational and incapable of interpretation?
2008 Winner: Christian Michel
Why Truth Trackers Do Not Need to Reject Epistemic Closure
2008 Boethius prize: Brenda Johnson
Does American Psycho Succeed Aesthetically and Morally for the Same Reasons?
2007 Winner: Michael Donnan
Rawl's Notion of Overlapping Consensus
2007 Boethius prize: Brenda Johnson
Can We Have Absolute Moral Obligations Towards the Environment?
2006 Winner: Eileen Walker
Can We Save 'Qualia'? (Thomas Nagel and the 'Psychophysical Nexus')
2006 Boethius prize: Brenda Johnson
Is there an Error Involved in the Way in Which we Typically Attribute Colour Properties to Objects?
2005 Winner: Frank Brierley
The Duplicity of the Transcendental Object
2005 Boethius prize: Phil Rees
The Post-Modern Critique of Science
2004 Winner: Frank Brierley
Are Ethical Principles Wholly Subjective, Founded Simply on Emotion?
2004 Boethius prize: Geoff Oliver
The Shape of Multicoloured Water
2003 Winner: Peter Gibson
Responsible Brains
2003 Boethius prize: Naomi Goulder
The Causality of the Will in Kant's Groundwork of the Metaphysic of Morals
2002 Winner: none
No prize awarded
2002 Boethius prize: none
No prize awarded
2001 Winner: Phil Rees
Nature Versus Nurture: Locke on Innate Ideas
2001 Boethius prize: Geoff Oliver
As Free as Can Be
2000 Winner: Eileen Walker
In Two Minds?
2000 Boethius prize: Trevor Pitts
Determinism, Indeterminism, Evolution and Free Will
1999 Winner: Phil Rees
The Mind Is Not the Brain: the Irreducibility of the Mental
1999 Boethius prize: Trevor Pitts
Quantum Teleology and the Origin of the Universe
1998 Winner: Trevor Pitts
Quantum Reality
1998 Boethius prize: Verna Muitt
The Janus Nature of Time
1997 Winner: Alan Bailey
Philosophy of Mind - a 50s View of the 90s
1997 Boethius prize: Cedric Wisbey
Concerning Infinity
1996 Winner: Colin Hannaford
A THESIS: That the Development of a Rational, Innovative Society, Internally Harmonious and Tolerant of Dissent, Depends on Understanding the Original Connection between Mathematics and Democracy
1996 Boethius prize: Pamela Barlow
In Search of Thomas Hobbes, the Man
1995 Winner: Peter Gibson
Stamping on Flowers
1995 Boethius prize: none
No prize awarded
1994 Winner: Pamela Barlow
Pioneer Russian Philosophers
1994 Boethius prize: Catherine Walton
To Be a Philosopher-King...
1993 Winner: Ronald Cretchley
Through the Looking Glass
1993 Boethius prize: Peter Lloyd
Is the Mind Physical? Dissecting Conscious Brain Tissue